Handing out the Hardware: CHD’s picks for all-conference players of the year (Part 1 of 2)

Now that another fantastic regular season is wrapped up, the buzz has begun for the NCAA tournament. Before we get there, CHD has reviewed the entire season and is ready to announce our picks for the best players from every single conference in the country. Jon Teitel has ranked the best five players from every conference based on their fantasy/statistical value. Players are listed in a standard five-position lineup (G-G-F-F-C) whenever possible, with several exceptions. He has also made his picks for each conference’s Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, 6th Man of the Year, and Coach of the Year.  If you think he has overlooked anyone, feel free to post your feedback in the comments section below.


America East
G: Akeem Williams (UMass-Lowell)
G: Jordan Reed (Binghamton)
G: Xavier Pollard (Maine)
F: Jameel Warney (Stony Brook)
F: Clancy Rugg (Vermont)
Player of the Year: Jameel Warney (Stony Brook)
Rookie of the Year: Rodney Elliott (UMBC)
6th Man of the Year: Carson Puriefoy (Stony Brook)
Coach of the Year: John Becker (Vermont)



G: Sean Kilpatrick (Cincinnati)
G: Shabazz Napier (Connecticut)
G: Russ Smith (Louisville)
F: TaShawn Thomas (Houston)
F: Montrezl Harrell (Louisville)
Player of the Year: Shabazz Napier (Connecticut)
Rookie of the Year: Austin Nichols (Memphis)
6th Man of the Year: Jherrod Stiggers (Houston)
Coach of the Year: Larry Brown (SMU)

G: Branden Frazier (Fordham)
G: Chaz Williams (Massachusetts)
F: Ovie Soko (Duquesne)
F: Ronald Roberts, Jr. (St. Joseph’s)
C: Cady Lalanne (Massachusetts)
Player of the Year: Chaz Williams (Massachusetts)
Rookie of the Year: Jon Severe (Fordham)
6th Man of the Year: Vee Sanford (Dayton)
Coach of the Year: Mike Lonergan (George Washington)

G: Lamar Patterson (Pitt)
G: Marcus Paige (North Carolina)
F: TJ Warren (NC State)
F: Jabari Parker (Duke)
C: Garrick Sherman (Notre Dame)
Player of the Year: Jabari Parker (Duke)
Rookie of the Year: Jabari Parker (Duke)
6th Man of the Year: Ian Miller (Florida State)
Coach of the Year: Tony Bennett (Virginia)

Atlantic Sun
G: Jarvis Haywood (Jacksonville)
G: Langston Hall (Mercer)
G: Brett Comer (Florida Gulf Coast)
F: Torrey Craig (South Carolina Upstate)
F: Chase Fieler (Florida Gulf Coast)
Player of the Year: Langston Hall (Mercer)
Rookie of the Year: JC Hampton (Lipscomb)
6th Man of the Year: Josh Williams (Lipscomb)
Coach of the Year: Bob Hoffman (Mercer)

Big 12
G: Juwan Staten (West Virginia)
G: Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State)
G: DeAndre Kane (Iowa State)
F: Melvin Ejim (Iowa State)
C: Joel Embiid (Kansas)
Player of the Year: Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State)
Rookie of the Year: Joel Embiid (Kansas)
6th Man of the Year: Phil Forte (Oklahoma State)
Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes (Texas)

Big East
G: Bryce Cotton (Providence)
G: Markel Starks (Georgetown)
F: Doug McDermott (Creighton)
F: JayVaughn Pinkston (Villanova)
C: Matt Stainbrook (Xavier)
Player of the Year: Doug McDermott (Creighton)
Rookie of the Year: Billy Garrett, Jr. (DePaul)
6th Man of the Year: Davante Gardner (Marquette)
Coach of the Year: Greg McDermott (Creighton)

Big Sky
G: Troy Huff (North Dakota)
G: Kareem Jamar (Montana)
F: Venky Jois (Eastern Washington)
F: Derrick Barden (Northern Colorado)
C: Kyle Tresnak (Weber State)
Player of the Year: Troy Huff (North Dakota)
Rookie of the Year: Jeremy Senglin (Weber State)
6th Man of the Year: Tim Huskisson (Northern Colorado)
Coach of the Year: Randy Rahe (Weber State)

Big South
G: Andrew Rousey (NC Asheville)
G: Rodney Glasgow (Virginia Military)
F: John Brown (High Point)
F: DJ Covington (Virginia Military)
C: DJ Cunningham (NC Asheville)
Player of the Year: John Brown (High Point)
Rookie of the Year: Andrew Rousey (NC Asheville)
6th Man of the Year: Sheldon Strickland (Charleston Southern)
Coach of the Year: Pat Kelsey (Winthrop)

Big Ten
G: Nik Stauskas (Michigan)
G: Tim Frazier (Penn State)
F: Drew Crawford (Northwestern)
F: Frank Kaminsky (Wisconsin)
C: Adreian Payne (Michigan State)
Player of the Year: Nik Stauskas (Michigan)
Rookie of the Year: Noah Vonleh (Indiana)
6th Man of the Year: Jarrod Uthoff (Iowa)
Coach of the Year: Tim Miles (Nebraska)

Big West
G: Corey Hawkins (UC Davis)
G: Mike Caffey (Long Beach State)
F: Christian Standhardinger (Hawaii)
F: Stephen Maxwell (CSU Northridge)
C: Alan Williams (UCSB)
Player of the Year: Alan Williams (UCSB)
Rookie of the Year: Luke Nelson (UC Irvine)
6th Man of the Year: Sam Finley (UC Riverside)
Coach of the Year: Bob Williams (UCSB)

G: Devon Saddler (Delaware)
G: Davon Usher (Delaware)
G: Jarvis Threatt (Delaware)
F: Jerrelle Benimon (Towson)
F: Scott Eatherton (Northeastern)
Player of the Year: Jerrelle Benimon (Towson)
Rookie of the Year: Omar Prewitt (William & Mary)
6th Man of the Year: Omar Prewitt (William & Mary)
Coach of the Year: Monte Ross (Delaware)

G: Chad Frazier (UAB)
G: Kareem Canty (Marshall)
G: Pierria Henry (Charlotte)
F: Tymell Murphy (Florida International)
F: Shawn Jones (Middle Tennessee State)
Player of the Year: Shawn Jones (Middle Tennessee State)
Rookie of the Year: Kareem Canty (Marshall)
6th Man of the Year: Shawn Lester (Charlotte)
Coach of the Year: Mike White (Louisiana Tech)

G: Kendrick Perry (Youngstown State)
G: Keifer Sykes (Wisconsin Green Bay)
G: Kelsey Barlow (Illinois Chicago)
F: Juwan Howard, Jr. (Detroit)
C: Alec Brown (Wisconsin Green Bay)
Player of the Year: Keifer Sykes (Wisconsin Green Bay)
Rookie of the Year: Alec Peters (Valpariaso)
6th Man of the Year: Jon Harris (Cleveland State)
Coach of the Year: Brian Wardle (Wisconsin Green Bay)

G: TJ Bray (Princeton)
G: Sean McGonagill (Brown)
G: Wesley Saunders (Harvard)
F: Justin Sears (Yale)
F: Fran Dougherty (Penn)
Player of the Year: TJ Bray (Princeton)
Rookie of the Year: Spencer Weisz (Princeton)
6th Man of the Year: Leland King (Brown)
Coach of the Year: Tommy Amaker (Harvard)


One Comment